Key Personnel

Dr. Larry Robertson, is the Director of the Iowa Superfund Research Program (irsp) “Semi-volatile PCBs: sources, exposures, toxicities” and has been the primary organizer of all eight of the previous PCB Workshops.

Dr. Takeshi Nakano is Guest Professor for the Research Center for Environmental Preservation, and Joint Research Chair for PCB concentration & separation system at Osaka University, Japan. He has authored more than 65 scientific publications in the area of fate and distribution of POPs, PCBs, Dioxins and Furans in human and environmental samples, and source estimation using characteristics of congener profile in samples.

Dr. Margaret James is Department Chair, Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Florida. She has served on the IAB for many years. Her laboratory studies the biotransformation of xenobiotics, including environmental chemicals (polychlorinated biphenyls, polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, triclosan, methoxychlor).

Dr. Keri Hornbuckle is recognized nationally and internationally for her research on persistent organic pollutants. She has extensive experience in the fate and transport of PCBs. She is chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Iowa.

Dr. Isaac Pessah is the Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Education, the School of Veterinary Medicine, and Professor of Toxicology at UC, Davis. He is a member of the IAB and has over 30 years’ experience working in the field of molecular and cellular neuropharmacology and neurotoxicology.

Dr. Michael Duffel is Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, College of Pharmacy, University of Iowa. He is the Assistant Director of the irsp. One of his major research efforts is directed towards understanding how polychlorinated biphenyls and their hydroxylated metabolites alter the catalytic function of sulfotransferases and the role that this plays in steroid hormone signaling.

Dr. Bernhard Hennig, professor in the Graduate Center for Toxicology at the University of Kentucky, is Director of the University of Kentucky Superfund Research Program. He has helped organize numerous NIEHS Annual Superfund Research Program Meetings. As past recipient of an R13 award for coordinating a session on Environmental Health, he is well positioned to assist and present at the PCB Workshop.

The 9th International PCB Workshop